Georgia Car Insurance
Car insurance laws and requirements aren’t the same in every state. Georgia drivers are in the right place to learn how to buy the best car insurance coverage for their particular situations by reviewing policy recommendations and comparing rates. We outline average car insurance rates in Georgia by ZIP code so you can see what to expect to pay. We also provide details about car insurance laws in Georgia.
The average car insurance rate in Georgia is $1,340 a year, according to an analysis of rates across the state. The price you pay for car insurance is based on the severity and frequency of claims in your neighborhood, your driving record, the type of car you drive, your credit and other factors. And each insurer uses its own formula to calculate your rate after reviewing this information about you. That’s why the price for the same coverage can vary by hundreds of dollars among insurance companies — and why you should compare rates. For example, in Atlanta, $2,300 is the highest rate among six carrires for ZIP code 30310. That’s $1,323 more than the lowest ($977). To get an idea of what rates are for your area, enter a ZIP code to see the average premium for that location. You will also see the highest and lowest rates from the six major carriers surveyed. This way you can tell if your quotes are too high and if you should keep shopping for a lower rate.
Cheap car insurance in Georgia
Georgia car insurance requirements
You must have at least minimum liability coverage limits of 25/50/25 to drive in Georgia. Buying the state required limits is definitely the cheapest way to go. But your assets and savings aren’t shielded from lawsuits and you won’t be covered for damage to your own car.
It does cost more to buy more protection, but as you’ll see in the chart below, additional coverage is typically affordable. Increasing your insurance from the state minimum to full coverage with a $500 deductible costs, on average, $808 more, or $67 a month.
*The table shows the average annual rate of nearly every ZIP code in Georgia from up to six major insurance companies. Rates are for a male driver, age 40, with a clean record and good credit for a 2016 Honda Accord. Data was provided for CarInsurance.com by Quadrant Information Services.
Recommended car insurance coverage
Deciding how much car insurance to buy depends on a few factors. To drive legally, you must buy at least the minimum liability insurance required by your state. If your car isn’t financed or leased and you don’t have a lot of money or assets to protect, that might be a wise choice. If, however, you don’t own your car outright, you will be required to get additional comprehensive and collision coverage. Additionally, if you want to shield your home and savings from lawsuits, it’s prudent to buy more coverage. If you want more protection, it will cost more, but as you’ll see in the chart above, it’s not that much more.
Use our How Much Car Insurance Do You Need? tool to get a recommendation.
We recommend you buy more insurance than is required to legally drive a car in your state, especially if you have savings and assets. If your net worth is:
- less than $50,000, choose at least 50/100/50
- between $50,000 and $100,000, choose at least 100/300/100
- more than $100,000, choose at least 250/500/100
If you’re leasing or financing your car, you must get coverage of 100/300/100 or higher.
Collision and comprehensive
Collision and comprehensive are optional. In Georgia, the average cost per year for collision is $313. Comprehensive costs $151. Collision coverage pays for damage to your car after an accident that you cause. Comprehensive insurance pays to replace stolen cars and for damages from vandalism, flooding, hail, fire and animal strikes. If your car is:
- less than 10 years old, you should strongly consider buying collision and comprehensive.
- more than 10 years old, only buy collision and comprehensive if your car is worth $3,000 or more, if you couldn’t afford to replace your car if it’s wrecked, or if you just want more protection on your policy.
If you buy comp and collision, check our guide to choosing a deductible amount.
Uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage pays for damages if you’re hit by a driver with no insurance or a driver with coverage that’s insufficient to pay for your repairs and medical expenses. These are also optional.
Medical coverage (MedPay)
Medical payments coverage can help pay for the medical or funeral expenses of covered drivers and passengers after an accident, regardless of fault, up to $25,000. In most states, including Georgia, it’s an optional addition to your car insurance policy. MedPay does the following:
- Covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses
- Pays for expenses after health insurance limits are exceeded
- Offers additional protection to insured drivers who are hit by a car while walking or biking
If you and your passengers:
- Don’t have health insurance, or have a plan that doesn’t cover car accidents or has low limits, we recommend that you add medical coverage of at least $5,000 to your car insurance policy.
- Do have health insurance, it’s still a good idea to have medical coverage if you want the best protection in your policy, as it can pay out after your health benefits are maxed out.
If you don’t own your car outright and have an accident, gap insurance pays the difference between the cash value of your car and the current outstanding balance on your loan or lease.
- If you’re financing your car, your car is less than one year old and you’ve put less than 20 percent down on it, you should buy gap insurance. If not, you don’t need gap insurance.
- If you’re leasing your car, it’s a good idea to buy gap insurance if you aren’t already required to in your lease agreement.
- If you own your car outright, you don’t need gap insurance.
Georgia car insurance rates by company
Below you’ll see average annual rates for Georgia, ranked cheapest to most expensive, for three coverage levels:
- State minimum liability requirements
- Liability limits of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage
- Liability of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident and $100,000 property damage, with comprehensive and collision at $500 deductible
Best Cheap Car Insurance in Georgia for 2018
Finding cheap car insurance in Georgia can take some persistence. Costs vary from one insurer to the next, sometimes by a wide margin, which is why shopping around and comparing several quotes is worth your time.
NerdWallet researched rates from the eight largest insurers in the state and found the cheapest options for the following types of applicants:
also in this article
Cheapest for good drivers
For drivers with no at-fault accidents, DUIs or moving violations.
The average rate for good drivers among the three cheapest companies was about $1,152 per year. Geico was by far the least expensive option we found and returned a quote well under that number, just $825 per year. Georgia Farm Bureau and State Farm rounded out the list of cheapest insurers in Georgia for good drivers.
Motorists with no moving violations or crashes should look into discounts that reward safe driving, such as perks for having no claims for a certain amount of time. Savings from these sorts of discounts can be an important factor when deciding which insurers offer the best deal.
Cheapest for young drivers
For drivers in their early 20s.
Young drivers typically wouldn’t have as much at stake financially in a crash-related lawsuit as older motorists and can select leaner policies as a result. We looked at quotes for drivers in their early 20s carrying the minimum required coverage, and found relatively cheap car insurance in Georgia.
Geico was the most affordable option with an estimate of $469 per year, which translates to around $39 a month. Prices jumped a bit with the next cheapest companies for this group, however. Georgia Farm Bureau and State Farm both had rates above $70 per month in our analysis.
Cheapest for drivers with one at-fault crash
You can typically expect a rate increase if you cause a crash, either with your current company at renewal or if you decide to shop around.
Geico paced the field with the lowest average quote, $1,219 per year. That’s $394 more than the best deal we found for drivers of the same age with no crashes on record.
The priciest estimate for this group was over $4,200 per year, which goes to show how much you stand to save by comparing several quotes, even if you have a bad driving record.
Cheapest for drivers with poor credit
For drivers placed in the “Poor Credit” tier.
People with poor credit tend to face higher car insurance rates than other drivers. The good news for Georgians is that the cheapest option we found, Georgia Farm Bureau, returned the same prices for those with credit problems as it did for good drivers with good credit.
Not all insurers are forgiving of poor credit, so shopping around is still important if you have credit issues. State Farm, for example, had the third-lowest rate at $2,746 per year, more than $1,500 higher than Georgia Farm Bureau’s.
Cheapest for retired drivers
For drivers in their mid- to late 60s who no longer use their car for commuting.
By spending less time in the car than their commuting counterparts, retirees can snag pretty cheap car insurance in Georgia.
We looked at rates for drivers in their 60s who drive half as much in a year as our other groups. Geico had the best deal available at $667 per year. That’s $158 cheaper than the most affordable price we found for drivers half that age who put a daily commute on the odometer.
Cheapest for drivers with a military connection
If you’re an active military member or a veteran — or have an immediate family member who is — you’ll most likely find relatively cheap car insurance in Georgia from USAA, which isn’t open to the general public. In fact, USAA offered one of the three cheapest rates for every driver category listed above.
Minimum car insurance requirements in Georgia
Georgia car insurance policies must include liability insurance, which pays for others’ property damage and injuries if you cause a crash.
Here are the minimum liability coverage amounts you must select:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per crash
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage per crash
While this will be enough to drive legally, it’s usually wise to get more than the minimum. An at-fault crash could easily result in injury or repair bills higher than the amounts listed above, and the remaining balance would have to come out of your pocket. You may also want to consider common add-ons such as collision, comprehensive and uninsured motorist protection.
Visit NerdWallet’s guide to car insurance requirements by state to learn more about buying your Georgia car insurance policy.
Alternative car insurance in Georgia
Drivers who are unable to buy Georgia car insurance on the open market — due to DUIs, poor credit or other reasons — can shop for coverage through the Georgia Automobile Insurance Plan.
If you’re searching for cheap car insurance in Georgia, you can also use NerdWallet’s car insurance comparison tool.
Here’s a summary of where you’ll find the cheapest insurance, by category:
Georgia Car Insurance Quote Comparison:
It’s Fast, Free, & Simple
Get Cheaper Car Insurance in Georgia
Car insurance is one of the most important coverages to have as a driver in Georgia. But when there are so many different car insurance companies to compare, how do you know which one to choose? Who provides the best coverage with the cheapest rates? And why do premiums differ so much from one insurer to the next?
We can help you through this stressful process by doing all the hard work for you. Comparing multiple car insurance quotes from many popular Georgia insurance companies has never been so easy. In just minutes, you’ll find the coverage that’s right for you, with affordable rates you can’t turn down.
Factors That Affect Car Insurance Premiums in Georgia
- Your marital status
- Driving record
- Your credit score
- How long you’ve had your license
- What kind of car you drive
- How many cars you have on your policy
- The age of your vehicle(s)
- The physical address where you park your car
All of these factors contribute to determining your premium. Since they differ person-to-person and companies hold diferent values for different factors, premiums vary.
Georgia Car Insurance Comparison Chart
Now that we understand the rating factors, it’s important to see how Georgia auto insurance rates can vary. Below are three actual profiles from Compare.com. Prices may vary by hundreds of dollars in many cases. What would you do with all that extra cash you saved by comparing car insurance?
- Is a 44-year-old female
- Owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu LS
- Drives for pleasure
- Owns a home and has a master’s degree
- Is a low-risk driver with a clean driving record
- Is a 21-year-old male
- Finances a 2013 Honda Civic SI
- Drives to work
- Rents an apartment and graduated from high school
- Has two speeding tickets on his record
Joe and Julie Average
- 41-year-old couple
- Owns a 2012 Grand Caravan SE and finances a 2011 Mazda 6S
- Drives to work
- Owns a condo and both have bachelor’s degrees
- Has minor tarnish on driving record
As you can see in the three Georgia car insurance comparison charts, everyone benefits from comparing rates from different insurers.
Get a Free Georgia Auto Insurance Quote Today
You can save a significant amount of money by finding the right auto insurance company. It pays to run a Georgia car insurance comparison before buying a policy. We can help you compare lots of options at once. Get started with your zip code.
After answering a few questions, we’ll display multiple rates from local companies to help you find the policy that’s right for you.
Georgia State Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
In Georgia, the law requires that each vehicle must be insured with the following minimum liability coverage:
- $25,000 minimum coverage for the injury or death of one person, such as yourself, a passenger or a pedestrian
- $25,000 minimum coverage for property damage
- $50,000 minimum coverage for the injury or death of multiple people in one accident
You may want to purchase the state minimum coverage. Or, you may reconsider and opt for a higher amount, because if you’re ever at fault for an accident and the damage exceeds your policy limits, then you’ll be personally responsible for covering the remainder. And that can be a pretty hefty sum of money.
Plus, it doesn’t usually increase your premium substantially to carry double the minimum coverage requirements. If you’re paying in monthly installments, you’ll also hardly even notice the difference. If you ever find yourself in a situation that requires you to use the coverage, you’ll be glad you spent the extra money.
Underinsured or Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Like most other states, Georgia doesn’t require you to carry underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. This is an optional form of coverage that protects you if you’re in an accident where the driver at fault cannot pay for damages.
Georgia is an “At-Fault” Car Insurance State
Most people aren’t aware that there are two systems to work out liability after a car accident: fault and no-fault. Some states have adopted the system of “no-fault” while others, like Georgia, have adopted the “fault” system.
Here’s what that means for you: If you’re involved in a car accident that is not your fault, the other party who is at fault is liable for any personal injuries or property damage from the accident. And that person’s car insurance policy is first in order to cover the financial obligations of the liability.
Once their policy is exhausted, your policy may be used to cover whatever expenses might be left.
Being an “At-Fault” State Provides More Options for Personal Injury Claims
In Georgia, if you are at fault in a car accident involving personal injuries, the person injured has three different options for seeking compensation. He or she can:
- File a third-party claim directly with your insurance company.
- File a claim with the person’s own insurance company, and that firm will then contact your insurer to seek compensation.
- Pursue a personal-injury lawsuit in civil court. This is usually the last resort, and generally only when a settlement cannot be reached.
This contrasts with the processes in a no-fault state, like New Jersey, where the injured person must exhaust his own policy limits before pursuing a claim with the other party’s insurer.
Providing Proof of Insurance in Georgia
Proof of insurance is electronic through the GEICS system in Georgia. If law enforcement pulls you over, the officer cannot accept your insurance card as proof of insurance.
Instead, the officer will run a check in the GEICS database to see your insurance status. This check is also run when you register or renew your auto registration. If you do not have insurance, you cannot register your car in Georgia.
This doesn’t mean you don’t have to carry your insurance cards with you or keep them in your vehicle. They’ll be necessary if you ever get in an accident, so you can exchange information with the other driver(s).