Online Auto Insurance
Texas Auto Insurance Quotes
OnlineAutoInsurance.com provides online car insurance quotes in TX. For those looking to save money on automobile coverage, the best way to do so is to compare multiple quotations from various companies. The good news is that the quote form provided above allows motorists to compare rates and coverage from insurers such Progressive, Infinity, AIG and more. Texas auto insurance quotes are determined by a few factors, including driving record, garaging address, the type of vehicle to be insured, accident and claims history, the driver’s age, the type of use for the automobile-such as use during work or just to commute-along with other factors. The price that one can expect to pay for a policy is based on the risk that the applicant poses which is determined by the above items. The industry consensus is that the more violations on a person’s driving record, the more likely he or she is to have an accident, which is why coverage can be more expensive when tickets or accidents are reflected on a policyholder’s driving record.
Having no violations-such as tickets or accidents-on a driving record will be a great benefit when searching for inexpensive rates in the Lone Star State. If motorists have a clean driving history, they are viewed as less of a risk to insurers and are therefore rewarded with cheaper premiums.
Comparing multiple rates from various providers is an effective way to finding savings and cheap TX car insurance policies. Now, drivers can complete this task with one simple process and a few clicks of the mouse. By completing a brief questionnaire, consumers will be provided with numerous quotations from reputable insurers to compare from and save.
If in the market for comprehensive and collision coverage, which is commonly referred to as “full coverage,” one can consider high deductibles, such as $1,000, in order to reduce premiums. In most cases, the higher the deductible, the lower the premium. However, one should keep in mind that the amount chosen as a deductible is the amount that would have to be paid before receiving compensation after filing a claim.
Many companies have discounts available that may or may not be offered to a particular driver. Prior to buying Texas auto insurance policies, be sure to ask for any discount that one might qualify for such as driving a low number of miles, having anti-theft devices, safety features equipped, good grades and more. For more information, see the articles, frequently asked questions and news section provided below to help answer questions one may have during the comparison-shopping process.
Texas law requires that motorists maintain at least the following minimum liability coverage:
- $30,000 for bodily injuries to one person.
- $60,000 for bodily injuries to two or more people per accident.
- $25,000 liability coverage for property damage. For example, this would cover damages to the other party’s vehicle.
This coverage is commonly abbreviated as “30/60/25.” Keep in mind that this coverage does not cover the insured’s vehicle in case of an accident.
For more information on TX auto insurance laws you can visit the Texas Department of Insurance. OnlineAutoInsurance.com also provides visitors with a guide to comparing Texas car insurance online from multiple companies with one simple process.
Questions About Texas Auto Insurance
In order for tornado-related vehicle damage to be covered, the insured must have carried comprehensive coverage at the time of the loss. Motorists who do have this included in a policy and have had their vehicles damaged in the Dallas-Fort Worth area should.
Texas residents who own a registered vehicle in the state are required to purchase car insurance before they can apply for a driver’s license. When it comes time to apply for a license, the applicant will need to show proof of an automobile policy. Proof must also be.
To determine a resident’s risk of being involved in an accident or filing a claim, coverage providers often take into consideration many different details. Often this information can range from personal information about a specific motorist, to the type of vehicle they drive and their.
News Related to Insurance in Texas
December 31, 2013 – The New Year that begins tomorrow will mean a few changes to car insurance-related laws in several states across the U.S. Beginning Wednesday, drivers in California, Texas, Oklahoma and Nevada will be subject to new laws taking effect. California auto policies can be renewed electronically under a law that goes into effect on Jan. 1 .
December 18, 2013 – Personal auto insurance was the line of coverage that generated the most questionable claims (QCs) in Texas, New York and New Jersey between 2010 and 2012, according to three more state-specific reports on QCs that the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) released Wednesday. According to the NICB, which receives QCs from .
November 19, 2013 – In Texas, motorists looking for inexpensive auto insurance coverage can buy a policy that lasts only 30 days. Drivers can also get liability coverage through what’s commonly called a “named-driver” policy, which have limited coverage that only covers the person who purchased the policy and nobody else. The consumer .
Articles on Car Insurance in Texas
Jul 05, 2012 – State data are showing that the number of uninsured drivers in Texas has dropped significantly in 2012. But how much of that trend can be attributed to greater compliance with mandatory car insurance laws, and.
May 22, 2012 – It has always been a good idea to drive safely and avoid accidents in Texas, but now vehicle owners have a little extra incentive. In April 2012, the state commissioner of insurance issued an order saying that rates for.
Apr 20, 2012 – In the Lone Star State, all motorists are obligated to pay for damages that they cause while behind the wheel. To help ensure that residents are able to do so, state legislators passed financial responsibility laws that.
Best Cheap Car Insurance in Texas for 2018
Auto insurance is an important purchase, but finding a policy and insurer that suit your needs isn’t always easy. Here you’ll find everything you need to know about buying a Texas auto insurance policy — including how much coverage is required, what your policy will pay for and where to find cheap car insurance in Texas.
We looked at quotes from the largest insurers in Texas and ranked the three cheapest options for these driver groups:
Also in this article:
Cheapest for good drivers
For drivers with no at-fault accidents, DUIs or moving violations.
The average for good drivers in Texas among the three cheapest insurers was about $1,204. Farmers Insurance was the cheapest at $994 per year, or about $83 per month.
In addition to enjoying lower rates in general, safe drivers typically can get a variety of discounts. State Farm, in particular, advertises four separate discounts on its site for safe or accident-free driving.
Cheapest for young drivers
For drivers in their early 20s.
Young drivers often need less car insurance than those with savings and assets, so we looked at rates for drivers in their early 20’s with minimum required coverage. Farmers returned the lowest rate, at about $63 per month, followed by Geico and State Farm.
This category had the lowest-priced range of average rates of any we analyzed, meaning young drivers can often keep costs fairly low.
Cheapest for drivers with one at-fault accident
Causing one accident can add a significant amount to your Texas car insurance premium, but insurers vary in how much they increase rates. One insurer in this test returned a rate of more than $8,000 per year for drivers with one at-fault crash, showing the value of shopping around for the best rate.
Cheapest for drivers with poor credit
For drivers placed in the “poor credit” tier.
Even though you may not associate your credit with car insurance, credit-based insurance scores are one of the factors companies can use to help determine your rates in Texas.
In some cases it won’t affect your rates, such as with Farmers Insurance in our analysis. But not everyone can count on their premiums staying put. Geico and State Farm were the next cheapest insurers for drivers with poor credit, and each company’s rates jumped for this group. As always, comparing a variety of estimates is a good way to find the best deal.
Cheapest for retired drivers
For drivers in their mid- to late 60s who no longer use their car for commuting.
Older drivers might anticipate rising auto insurance rates as they age. But our research found that the lowest average rate for retired drivers in Texas — $774 per year from Farmers — was cheaper than the best deal for 30-year-old good drivers.
The biggest reason for this price difference is that retired drivers usually travel significantly fewer miles per year than those who commute daily. To reflect this, we looked at rates for older drivers who drive half as much as other groups.
Cheapest for drivers with a military connection
If you’re an active member of the military or a veteran — or have an immediate family member who is — chances are high you’ll get a good rate with USAA, an option that isn’t available to the general public. In our analysis, USAA was one of the three cheapest options in Texas for every driver type listed above, and in some cases it was the cheapest. USAA customers also benefit from the insurer’s top-rated customer service.
Cheapest for low-mileage drivers
If you don’t drive much, look into Milewise when you compare quotes. This insurance from the Allstate family requires a device to plug into your car to track mileage. You’re charged a daily rate plus a per-mile rate, and the company says customers who drive 135 miles or less per week can save 10% or more. As with other per-mile insurers, the less you drive, the lower your insurance bill. But if you want to take a road trip, don’t worry — you won’t be charged for more than 150 miles per day.
Minimum state car insurance requirements in Texas
With rare exceptions (see below ), Texas drivers are required to carry liability insurance . You’ll often see the minimum requirements written in shorthand as 30/60/25. This means in Texas you must buy at least:
- $30,000 bodily injury/death liability coverage per person
- $60,000 bodily injury/death liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
If you cause an accident, liability insurance kicks in to pay for others’ injury treatment and property damage, up to your limits. It doesn’t pay for your own injuries or vehicle repairs.
In many cases, the legal minimum insurance won’t be enough to cover costs if you cause an accident. If you total someone’s luxury car, for example, their repair costs could easily exceed a $25,000 ceiling. Any damage that surpasses your limits has to come out of your own pocket. That’s why for most drivers it’s wise to select higher limits, such as 100/300/50.
Other insurance to consider
Collision coverage: Pays for fixing your own car. It also pays for repairs if you have a single-car accident, such as hitting a tree. Collision coverage has a deductible, the amount subtracted from a claim payment. So if you need $5,000 worth of repairs and have a $500 deductible, your claim check would be $4,500.
Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive coverage pays to repair your car after animal collisions and certain non-collision issues such as car theft, vandalism and fire, to name a few. It also has a deductible.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: If you’re struck by a driver who has no car insurance, or not enough, UM/UIM coverage will pay for your injury treatment and that of your passengers, as well as your auto repairs. There’s a mandatory $250 deductible for UM/UIM property-damage claims in Texas.
Texas auto insurance companies must offer UM/UIM coverage, but you can reject it in writing if you wish. However, it could be a worthwhile purchase, since about 14% of Texans drive uninsured, according to the Insurance Research Council. It’s common to select the same limits as your liability insurance.
Medical payments coverage (MedPay): MedPay helps pay for your injury treatment plus that of your passengers or family members no matter who caused the accident. It also helps cover funeral costs after fatal accidents.
Personal injury protection: Like MedPay, PIP pays for injury and funeral costs for you, your family and your passengers after an accident, regardless of who caused the accident. It also covers partial income losses due to injuries. Texas car insurance companies will automatically offer $2,500 in PIP, but you may reject it in writing if you don’t want it, or you can select higher limits.
Alternatives to buying auto insurance in Texas
If you’re having trouble getting insured in Texas, look into the Texas Auto Insurance Plan Association . It can help connect you with a company that will cover you.
You don’t necessarily have to buy car insurance in Texas. There are legally acceptable alternatives you can choose to prove your financial responsibility, including:
- Filing a surety bond with the Department of Public Safety. You must file the bond jointly with at least two people, called “sureties,” who own property in the state. The property offered in the bond must be worth at least as much as the insurance amounts mandated under the state’s minimum liability car insurance requirements.
- Making a $55,000 deposit with the state comptroller in either cash or securities.
- Making a $55,000 deposit with the county judge where your vehicle is registered, in either cash or cashier’s check.
- Qualifying for a certificate of self-insurance through the Department of Public Safety. You promise to pay up to the same amount covered by minimum liability insurance requirements if you cause an accident with one of your cars. This option only applies if you own 25 vehicles or more.
Texas Car Insurance Comparison: It’s Fast, Free, & Simple
Why Compare Insurance Rates in Texas?
Everything’s bigger in Texas — including car insurance costs. Texas holds some of the nation’s highest insurance rates but that doesn’t mean you have to pay that much. To get the lowest car insurance rates in Texas, you should get as many quotes as possible. Compare.com’s Texas car insurance comparison chart reveals that whatever your driving history looks like, some insurers will offer you dramatically lower rates than others.
Texas Car Insurance Comparison Chart
In Texas, drivers are required to carry at least $30,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $60,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 of property damage coverage. Driving without insurance in Texas is a bad idea. Penalties range from a fine of $175-$350 for a first offense to $4,000 and a year in jail if you cause an accident resulting in serious injuries or death. Not only that, but an insurance company is allowed to charge you more if you drove without insurance in Texas for more than 30 days during the 12 months before your insurance application. Texas uses a system of electronic verification called TexasSure to check that drivers are carrying insurance.
In Texas, insurers have wide latitude when setting rates. We created a Texas car insurance comparison chart for three different driver profiles to illustrate the range in premiums.
- Is a 44-year-old female
- Owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu LS
- Drives for pleasure
- Owns a home and has a master’s degree
- Is a low-risk driver with a clean driving record
- Is a 21-year-old male
- Finances a 2013 Honda Civic SI
- Drives to work
- Rents an apartment and graduated from high school
- Has two speeding tickets on his record
Joe and Julie Average:
- Are a married 41-year-old couple
- Owns a 2012 Grand Caravan SE and finances a 2011 Mazda 6S
- Drives to work
- Owns a condo and both have bachelor’s degrees
- Has minor tarnish on driving record
Which car insurance profile is most like you?
These are all authentic quotes obtained by Compare.com, although we’ve left out the names of the insurance companies. What causes these big variations in Texas insurance rates? Let’s take a closer look.
Texas car insurance laws
- Car insurance rates are affected by your driving history. Having an at-fault accident, speeding ticket or other moving violation on your record will raise your premiums. On our Texas car insurance comparison chart, you can see that the two profiles with a blemished record are seeing some high premium quotes. Even so, the Averages’ lowest monthly installment quote is a whopping $332 less than the highest quoted premium. That’s why it’s so important to shop around for car insurance.
- Insurers consider how you use your car. Car insurance rates are typically lower for people who drive only for pleasure, like Elizabeth Allclear. If you use your car regularly to commute to work or conduct business, like Joe and Julie Average, your rates will be higher.
- Your consumer credit affects your car insurance rates. Texas prohibits insurance companies from refusing to sell you insurance, or canceling your policy, because you have bad credit. However, Texas does allow insurers to consider consumer credit history. Bad credit can lead to higher rates.
- Age and marital status affect Texas car insurance premiums. The highest rates, on average, are paid by men under 25 and unmarried women under 21, according to the Texas Department of Insurance. This may not seem fair, but that’s how it works. Age is one of the biggest reasons Johnny Racer sees such high premium quotes.
Your Texas auto insurance options
Don’t resign yourself to paying a lot for your insurance. Our Texas car insurance comparison chart reveals that some insurers will offer you much lower rates than others — even if you have a few tickets or an accident on your record. As you can see, Johnny Racer’s highest monthly installment quote is two and a half times his lowest quote. And with a clean record, Elizabeth Allclear sees rates as low as $77 per month.